Search
Close this search box.

What is Calcium Propionate? Is it vegetarian?

Vegetarian Calcium Propionate

Calcium propionate (also known as E282) is the calcium salt of propionic acid. It is used as a food preservative and is commonly found in commercial bread and other baked goods. However, it is also found in processed meats, whey, and other dairy products. It meets the specifications of the Food Chemicals Codex and is generally recognized as safe (GRAS). As a bread preservative, it helps baked goods stay fresher longer by preventing the growth of mold and bacteria.

In addition to preserving food for longer, calcium propionate also helps to increase the nutritional value of food since it is a source of calcium. Calcium is of course a very important mineral for the human body. Calcium contributes to bone and dental health, blood clotting, nerve function, hormone and chemical regulation, and even helps maintain a normal heartbeat. Calcium propionate, like other fats, can be metabolized and absorbed by humans and animals to provide them with the necessary calcium. This advantage is unmatched by other fungicides and is considered GRAS.

Is Calcium Propionate Vegan?

Calcium propionate is vegetarian.
With the growing popularity of plant-based diets, propionate calcium salt, or E282, is formed by reacting calcium hydroxide with propionic acid. It also occurs naturally in some foods and acts as a natural preservative. Vegan friendly.

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Facebook

Ask For A Quick Quote

We will contact you within 1 working day, please pay attention to the email with the suffix “@justlonghealth.com”